kampfer_logo

Transitions.

Transitions.
From German Democratic Republic to Federal Republic of Germany

The children and adolescents born after 1990 are no longer familiar with the German Democratic Republic, they have no first-hand knowledge of it, they have not seen the Wall, they only know from their parents or grandparents, from their history lessons, from movies or photos what it might have been like before the fall of the Berlin Wall.
The first series of photographs of Angelika Kampfer and Ewald Hentze shows how “exotic” this world of the GDR 1989 appears to us today. Immediately after the fall of the Wall the two photographers set out to take pictures of people – children, women and men at their jobs, in kindergardens and in factories – in a state that everybody knew would soon cease to exist or would undergo fundamental changes.
In 1992 Angelika Kampfer and Ewald Hentze started out again to take photos of the same people. Much had changed in those two years. It seems that the labourer, THE protagonist of the old GDR as the labourers’ and farmers’ paradise, disappeared. Angelika Kampfer does not show the emptiness of factories and slag heaps, she shows the workers without work as early pensioners in their gardens.
In 2005 Angelika Kampfer set out again on a photo trip. The buildings photographed in 1992 remind us to a large extent of the early 20th century. Since then the factories that have survived have been modernized, new trade shops have been established, schools have been renovated. Within a period of just 15 years a clean world of white collar workers has emerged, a totally rationalized world. People cope with it, some much better than before, some less.

Dr. Monika Flacke, Böhlau Verlag, 2006


„The rubber boats were fit for the open sea, but we were not allowed to use them along the coast of the Baltic Sea.
In the times of the old GDR we could spend our holidays only in the Cech Republic, once we were assigned to a campground near Prag. We had a cottage there, we were lucky, it was ok. The assignment was made by another branch of our factory. We don’t have a car, but we still have our “Schwalbe”. We are no longer unemployed and earn our own money. You can’t even afford to be ill, you lose your job right away. And we won’t get another one.”

Klaus Buchholz, 2006

Übergänge.

Übergänge.
Von der DDR zur Bundesrepublik Deutschland

Die Kinder und Jugendlichen, die nach 1990 geboren wurden, kennen die DDR nicht mehr, sie haben sie nicht mehr erlebt, die Mauer nicht mehr gesehen, und sie wissen nur aus den Erzählungen der Eltern oder Großeltern, aus dem Geschichtsunterricht, aus Filmen oder auch von Fotografien, wie es vor dem Fall der Mauer gewesen sein mag.
Wie fremd diese Welt "DDR 1989" schon geworden ist, zeigt die erste Reihe der Fotografien von Angelika Kampfer und Ewald Hentze. Gleich nach dem Fall der Mauer sind die beiden aufgebrochen, um Menschen - Kinder, Frauen und Männer an ihren Arbeitsplätzen, in den Kindergärten und Betrieben - in einem Staat zu fotografieren, von dem jeder wusste, dass es ihn bald nicht mehr geben oder sich ein fundamentaler Wandel in ihm vollziehen würde.
1992 machten sich Angelika Kampfer und Ewald Hentze erneut auf, um dieselben Menschen noch einmal zu fotografieren. In den zwei Jahren hatte sich Vieles verändert. Mit dem Arbeiter- und Bauernstaat scheint sich auch einer ihrer großen Protagonisten - der Arbeiter - von der Bühne verabschiedet zu haben. Angelika Kampfer zeigt nicht die leeren Welten der Fabriken und Abraumhalden, sie zeigt die Arbeiter ohne Arbeit in ihren Gärten als Frührentner.
2004 und 2005 hat die Fotografin noch einmal eine Fotoreise gemacht. Die 1992 festgehaltenen Räume erinnern in großen Teilen noch an das frühe 20. Jahrhundert. Die überlebenden Fabriken sind seitdem modernisiert, neue Handwerksbetriebe errichtet, die Schulen sind saniert worden. Es entstand in der kurzen Zeit von 15 Jahren die aufgeräumte Welt der Angestellten, der sauberen Arbeitsplätze, es entstand eine durchrationalisierte Welt, in der man zurecht kommt - manche viel besser als früher, andere weniger.

Dr. Monika Flacke, Böhlau Verlag, 2006


"Die Gummiboote waren hochseetauglich, es war aber verboten, sie an der Ostseeküste zu benützen.
Zu DDR-Zeiten durften wir im Urlaub nur in die Tschechei, einmal wurde uns ein Campingplatz bei Prag zugeteilt. Wir hatten dort einen Bungalow, wir hatten Glück, es war gut. Die Zuteilung haben wir über eine andere Zweigstelle des Betriebes bekommen. Wir haben kein Auto, aber noch immer unsere Schwalbe. Wir sind jetzt weg vom Arbeitsamt und verdienen selbst. Man kann es sich gar nicht leisten, krank zu sein, dann ist der Job weg, und einen anderen bekommen wir nicht."

Klaus Buchholz, 2006