kampfer_logo

Calcutta, India

Angelika Kampfer took these photos in a region known by the romantic name of Sunderban (“beautiful forest”). The delta estuary of the Ganges and Brahmaputra rivers lies below sea level and is among the poorest regions in Western Bengal, India.
77% of the population are living below the poverty line. The whole region is distinctly influenced by the nearby megacity of Calcutta. More than half a million people commute daily in 124 trains  and innumerable busses – all of them incredibly crowded - to the metropolis and back.

In the Sundarbans there are hardly any schools and roads, and medical care is scarce. Especially after the monsoon major areas of that region are isolated from the rest of the country. The situation of the women in the villages south of Calcutta is precarious. Giving birth to a girl is still undesirable as the dowry, which is  due when the girl gets married, may ruin a whole family. Women get hardly any pay for the farm work they  do. So it is essential that they find additional and alternative sources of income in the villages in order to safeguard themselves and their children against financial problems. The “Katholische Frauenbewegung” (Catholic Women’s Movement) of Austria supports initiatives that bring about lasting change for the women and their families. Angelika Kampfer focuses her attention on this expression of female solidarity, which across thousands of kilometers and religious and cultural borders places women in the limelight.

Kolkata, Indien

Angelika Kampfer hat diese Bilder in einer Region gemacht, die den romantischen Namen Sunderban („Schöner Wald“) trägt. Das Deltagebiet des Ganges und Brahmaputra liegt unterhalb des Meeresspiegels und gehört zu den ärmsten Regionen in West Bengalen, Indien.
77% der Bevölkerung leben unter der Armutsgrenze. Die gesamte Region ist stark geprägt von der Nähe zur Großstadt Kolkata. Mehr als eine halbe Million Menschen pendelt täglich dicht gedrängt in 124 Zügen und zahllosen Bussen in die Metropole und wieder zurück.

In den Sundarbans gibt es kaum Schulen, medizinische Versorgung oder Straßen. Vor allem nach dem Monsun sind große Teile dieses Gebiets von der  Außenwelt abgeschnitten. Die Situation der Frauen in den Dörfern südlich von Kolkata ist prekär. Die Geburt eines Mädchens ist nach wie vor unerwünscht, da mit der Verheiratung einer Tochter Mitgiftzahlungen notwendig werden, die eine Familie in den finanziellen Ruin stürzen können. Viel Arbeit, die von Frauen im landwirtschaftlichen Bereich geleistet wird, bleibt unbezahlt. Es ist notwendig, dass die Frauen zusätzliche und alternative Einnahmequellen in den Dörfern finden, um sich und ihre Familien abzusichern. Die Katholische Frauenbewegung Österreichs unterstützt Initiativen, die das Leben der Frauen und ihrer Familien nachhaltig verändern. Angelika Kampfer hat ihren Blick auf diesen Ausdruck weiblicher Solidarität gerichtet, der über tausende von Kilometern, über Religions- und Kulturgrenzen hinweg Frauen ins Zentrum rückt.