kampfer_logo

Being at Home Abroad

Immigrants

Beslan Bjutukajew, from Chechnya

Our village is 45 km away from Grosny. It used to have a population of 8,000. It was destroyed by Russian soldiers, there are maybe 4,000 people left. My father is retired, at the age of almost 70 he became disabled, a Russian soldier fired at him from a plane, and he lost his leg. The first war was not quite so terrible, but in this second war they didn’t make a difference between children, old people or civilians, they bomb and fire at everything and everybody. Everybody is scared.
I think of my homecountry too often and for too long, it is painful to think of home. I think of my parents, of my relatives. If the Russian soldiers leave tomorrow I’m going back the day after tomorrow.


Asima Imamović, from Bosnia

The most beautiful moment in my life was when the four of us crossed the “Wurzenpass” (road pass between Ex-Yugoslavia and Austria) alive, when we saw all the lights down in the valley and I knew: we are safe.
I will always be grateful to the family that helped us to flee.
I was alone with my three sons, my husband was in Bosnia, we were seperated for twelve years.
I have wonderful memories of my homecountry. But it doesn’t exist like this any longer.
My best wishes to all the people there, may they have hope and may our culture grow again in peace. And may there never be war again. I know what it is like.


Felix Igboanusi, from Nigeria

I’m of Ibo origin and actively involved in a movement that works for the independence of the state of Biafra from Nigeria. The conflict is 20 years old, we don’t fight with arms, we want a dialogue.
Information meetings of our organization are attacked, many people are killed and active members are taken prisoner and killed, you never find out what happened. I was lucky and could escape just in time.
Some people don’t have problems with blacks like me, others do. I greet the people and I’m treated as if I committed a crime.But now I get used to it. I am grateful for being here, I feel save.
If Biafra becomes independent, I’m going back tomorrow.

 

Emigrants

Tina Brandstätter, Calgary, Kanada

In my thoughts I’m still at home.


John Miklautsch, Milwaukee, USA

My father was here from 1923 to 1939, my mother from 1930 to 1939. I was born in Milwaukee in 1935. My parents went back in 1939, my father was homesick. I became an American citizen again in 1954, but didn’t know any English. In 1956 I emigrated to Milwaukee and after three months I volunteered for the Army for two years. I got my basic training in Missouri, then I went to the desert in Nevada, where they did nuclear tests. On weekends we went to Las Vegas, the job and the food were ok. Later I was stationed in Germany, Vietnam and South Korea.
The veterans hospital in Milwaukee is my home. Everything free.


Leo Fischbach, Boca Raton, Florida, USA

In Villach we lived at 44 Klagenfurterstraße. Only the Mitzner kids played football with us. The other kids did not play with us. They didn’t even say hello to us because we were Jews. In my childhood I felt completely isolated. I was the only Jewish child in highschool in Villach.

Heimat in der Fremde

Einwanderer

Beslan Bjutukajew, aus Tschetschenien

Unser Dorf liegt 45 km von Grosny entfernt. Es hatte 8.000 Einwohner. Jetzt ist es von russischen Soldaten zerstört, es leben vielleicht noch 4.000 Menschen dort.
Mein Vater ist Pensionist, er wurde mit fast 70 Jahren zum Invaliden, ein russischer Soldat hat ihn aus dem Flugzeug angeschossen und er hat ein Bein verloren.
Der erste Krieg war nicht so schrecklich, aber in diesem zweiten Krieg machten sie keinen Unterschied zwischen Kindern, alten Leuten oder Zivilisten, sie schießen und bombardieren alle und alles. Alle haben Angst.
Ich denke zu oft und zu lange an die Heimat, es ist zu schmerzhaft, an die Heimat zu denken. Ich denke an die Eltern, an die Verwandten. Wenn morgen die russischen Soldaten das Land verlassen, gehe ich übermorgen zurück.


Asima Imamović, aus Bosnien

Der schönste Moment in meinem Leben war als wir alle vier lebend über den Wurzenpass kamen, die vielen Lichter unten im Tal sahen und ich wusste: wir sind in Sicherheit.
Ich bin der Familie, die mir bei der Flucht geholfen hat, mein Leben lang dankbar.
Ich war allein mit meinen drei Söhnen, mein Mann war in Bosnien, wir waren 12 Jahre lang getrennt.
Ich habe eine wunderschöne Erinnerung an meine Heimat. Aber so gibt es sie nicht mehr.
Ich wünsche den Leuten dort das Allerbeste, Hoffnung, und unsere Kultur soll wieder wachsen, in Frieden. Und niemals wieder soll es Krieg geben. Ich habe es ja erlebt.


Felix Igboanusi, aus Nigeria

Ich bin ein Angehöriger der Ibo und aktives Mitglied einer Bewegung, die sich für die Unabhängigkeit des Staates Biafra von Nigeria einsetzt. Der Konflikt besteht seit 20 Jahren, wir kämpfen nicht mit Waffen, wir wollen den Dialog.
Informationsveranstaltungen unserer Organisation werden überfallen, viele Menschen werden getötet und sie nehmen aktive Mitglieder gefangen und töten sie, you never find out what happened. Ich hatte Glück und kam gerade noch rechtzeitig weg.
Manche Menschen haben keine Probleme mit uns Schwarzen, andere schon. Ich grüße die Leute und ich werde behandelt as if I committed a crime. But now I get used to it. I am grateful for being here, I feel safe.
Wenn Biafra unabhängig wird, gehe ich morgen zurück.

 

Auswanderer

Tina Brandstätter, Calgary, Kanada

Ich bin in Gedanken immer noch daheim.


John Miklautsch, Milwaukee, USA

Der Vater war von 1923 bis 1939 hier, die Mutter von 1930 bis 1939. Ich bin 1935 in Milwaukee auf die Welt gekommen. Die Eltern sind 1939 zurück gegangen, der Vater hatte Heimweh. Ich bekam 1954 wieder die amerikanische Staatsbürgerschaft, konnte aber kein Englisch. 1956 bin ich nach Milwaukee ausgewandert und habe mich nach drei Monaten freiwillig für zwei Jahre bei der Army verpflichtet. Die Grundausbildung habe ich in Missouri gemacht, dann bin ich nach Nevada in die Wüste, wo sie Atomversuche gemacht haben. An den Wochenenden sind wir nach Las Vegas, die Arbeit und das Essen waren gut. Danach war ich noch in Deutschland, Vietnam und Südkorea stationiert.
Das Veteranenhospital in Milwaukee ist meine Heimat. Alles gratis.


Leo Fischbach, Boca Raton, Florida, USA

In Villach lebten wir in der Klagenfurterstraße 44. Nur die Mitzners spielten mit uns Fußball. Die anderen Nachbarskinder spielten nicht mit uns. Die sagten nicht einmal Hallo zu uns, weil wir jüdisch waren. In meiner Kindheit fühlte ich mich total isoliert. Damals war ich das einzige jüdische Kind im Villacher Gymnasium.